Bevan Yueh, MD, MPH, CEO

Dr. Bevan Yueh serves as CEO for University of Minnesota Physicians. Dr. Yueh is a head & neck surgeon, and his practice is focused on the ablation of H&N tumors. As a former Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar, he has expertise in clinical epidemiology and health services research, with special focus on improving hearing health, and improving function and quality of life of patients after treatment for head & neck cancer.

Holly Boyer

Holly Boyer, MD, Executive Medical Director

Holly Boyer, MD, provides medical leadership for our organization. She is a surgeon who specializes in nasal and sinus disorders, and an Associate Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Minnesota Medical School. Dr. Boyer also has a key role in the M Heath Fairview partnership as VP, Health Transformation Center – Customer Solutions Center.

Ruth Flynn

Ruth Flynn, JD, Chief Legal Officer

Ruth Flynn, JD, concentrates her practice on in-house medical malpractice defense, overseeing the clinical risk management team which includes oversight of claims management and the M Physicians captive insurance company and managing the relationships with the external general counsel and employment counsel.


Barbara Gold, MD, Chief Clinical Risk Officer

In her role as Chief Clinical Risk Officer, Barbara Gold, MD, is responsible for our practice standards regarding response to adverse health events, as well as comprehensive risk management education for physicians, residents and students to ensure the success of these standards. She is a practicing anesthesiologist and Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Minnesota Medical School.


Mary Johnson, MS, Chief Strategy Officer

Mary Johnson, MS, serves as Chief Strategy Officer for M Physicians with responsibilities to generate, develop and lead strategic growth opportunities for the organization. She is also the Chief Operating Officer for the University of Minnesota Medical Center and the University of Minnesota Medical School.

Pete Mitch

Pete Mitsch, CPA, Chief Financial Officer

Pete Mitsch, CPA, serves as Chief Financial Officer for the University of Minnesota Medical School and M Physicians, providing leadership to both financial teams.

Nick Nyhus

Nick Nyhus, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, Chief Administrative Officer

Nick Nyhus, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, has responsibility for all M Physicians human resources functions within the clinical practice, including physician and staff recruitment, performance management, people engagement, compensation and benefits and organizational and leadership development, as well as clinic operations for the M Physicians owned clinics.

Abe Jacob

Abe Jacob, MD, MHA, Chief Quality Officer

Abe Jacob, MD, MHA, serves as the Chief Quality Officer for both M Physicians and M Health Fairview. His focus is on ensuring excellent care and outcomes for all of our patients and a safe environment for our patients and care team members.

Meet the University of Minnesota Physicians Board of Directors